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Stewards Ruling 114-2024 

Ruling Date: 09/19/2024 

Violation Date: 09/17/2024 

STATE OF DELAWARE 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
DELAWARE THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION 

777 DELAWARE PARK BLVD, WILMINGTON, DE 19804 
AGRICULTURE.DELAWARE.GOV 

OFFICE OF THE STEWARDS 

Licensee: Ney Pessanha 

License Type: Owner/Trainer 

Ruling Type/Description: Improper or Inhumane Treatment of an Animal 

FAX: (302) 994-3567 

DOB: 04/08/1986 

RCI ID: 2089921 

DTRC Rules Cited: 2.5.1.14, 2.5.1.20, 2.5.1.22, 7.2.1.2, 7.3.1, 7.3.10, 3.3 All and 3.4 All. 

Suspension: Yes 

Fine: $1000 

Suspension Start Date: 09/24/2024 

Fine Due Date: 09/27/2024 

Suspension End Date: 09/23/2025 

Narrative: Owner/Trainer Ney Pessanha, DOB: 04/08/1986, RCI ID: 2089921, appeared at a hearing before 

the Board of Stewards on September 17, 2024, in the matter of improper or inhumane treatment of horses in 

his care. Ney Pessanha appeared without legal counsel and "Waived" his right to. 

Prior to the hearing, the Stewards had received complaints from horsemen, outriders, the Safety Steward, 

private veterinarians, and regulatory veterinarians as to the condition and care of horses under the 

responsibility of Ney Pessanha. 

After considering all evidence and testimony in this matter, the Stewards have found Ney Pessanha failed to 

provide adequate food, water, bedding, sanitation, exercise, and veterinarian care for his horses, and 

therefore is "Suspended for one-year (September 24,2024 to September 23, 2025) and fined $1,000. During 

the term of the suspension, Ney Pessanha is "Denied" access to all grounds under the jurisdiction of the 

Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission. 

In addition, Ney Pessanha will be not eligible to apply for a Delaware license in any capacity until January 1, 

2030. Before consideration of a DTRC Trainer or Assistant Trainer license, Ney Pessanha must pass the DTRC 

Trainer or Assistant Trainer test. 

All transfers for horses currently owned by or under the care of Ney Pessanha must be approved by the 

Stewards. 

Ney Pessanha may apply for a review and appeal to the Commission under DTRC rules 19.2 Review and 

Appeal and 19.3 Application for Review. 

Failure to pay the assessed fine by the due date may result in a suspension of licensee. Monetary fines not 

paid within the parameters of the official ruling are subject to penalty and interest charges at the rate of 1.5% 

per month compounded monthly. 

��� William Troilo 




