Delaware Department of

Tree Friendly Community

Tree Friendly Community sign
Delaware’s Tree Friendly Program recognizes communities that protect and enhance their urban forests.
Tree Friendly Tavistock

Delaware’s Tree Friendly Community Program honors communities and homeowner associations that are committed to protecting and enhancing our state’s urban forest resources. Delaware currently has 21 communities that are certified as “Tree Friendly.”

Download a  Tree Friendly Application

A community can qualify by accomplishing three (3) of the following:

  • Performed an annual ceremony to promote your community’s and our state’s urban forest resources. This may be an Arbor Day, Earth Day, or another community ceremony that educates the public and promotes the importance of trees within your community.
  • Conducted a tree project within your community that enhances existing urban forest resources. This can include planting trees within a community-owned open space, pruning of community-owned street trees, or a similar project that demonstrates a commitment to maintaining your community’s existing urban forest resources.
  • Developed a community forestry management plan in cooperation with the Delaware Forest Service U&CF Program. Management plans should guide the management of urban forestry resources for at least a five-year period.
  • Developed a community tree ordinance that protects trees.
  • Formulated a tree commission or tree board that serves as the guiding body for tree related decisions throughout the community.
  • Had a tree budget of $1 per household for residential communities.

Communities will receive a complimentary sign to display publicly that they are committed to maintaining their forest resources and our state’s environment. This certification is effective for two years, after which it can be renewed. To see if your community qualifies as a Delaware Tree Friendly Community, please complete the attached application and email to

Applications will be reviewed by the U&CF Council and DFS Staff. Communities that qualify will receive a letter of acceptance.

If you have any additional questions, please contact Taryn Davidson, Urban & Community Forester: Phone: (302) 659-6704 Email:


Community County Level
Alapocas New Castle Silver
Beech Hill New Castle Bronze
Carrcroft New Castle Platinum
Fairthorne New Castle Silver
Tavistock New Castle Platinum
Westover Hills A New Castle Platinum
Westover Hills C New Castle Platinum
Champions Club Kent Silver
Spring Meadows Kent Bronze
Bayside – Fenwick Island Sussex Bronze
Forest Landing Sussex Bronze
Meadows at Villages of Old Landing Sussex Silver
The Overlook – Selbyville Sussex Bronze
Bayside – Tunnell Community Sussex Gold
Baywood – Tunnell Community Sussex Gold
Creekside – Tunnell Community Sussex Gold
Coveside – Tunnell Community Sussex Gold
Dockside – Tunnell Community Sussex Gold
Lakeside – Tunnell Community Sussex Gold
Seaside – Tunnell Community Sussex Gold
Village of Cinderberry Sussex Bronze

Related Topics:  , ,