Residents who are seeking treatment options for spotted lanternfly can click to find a licensed "Ornamental and Turf" Pesticide company in their area. Make sure to select "Ornamental and Turf" in the drop-down menu and then click "Search for Businesses licensed for this Category." More Info

Delaware.gov logo
Delaware Department of
Agriculture

Contact the Poultry and Animal Health Section



Delaware Department of Agriculture
2320 South DuPont Highway
Dover, Delaware 19901

Business Phone: (302) 698-4561 (Poultry and Animal Health Section)
Business Phone:  Animal Emergency Hotline (after hours): (302) 233-1480
Business Phone: (302) 698-4500 (DDA Receptionist)
Business Phone: (800) 282-8685 (Toll-Free)
Business Fax: (302) 697-4451

 

Poultry and Animal Health Staff


State Veterinarian, Dr. Heather Hirst
E-mail heather.hirst@delaware.gov

Deputy State Veterinarian, Dr. Karen Lopez
E-mail karen.lopez@delaware.gov

Inspector Supervisor, Robert Moore
E-mail robert.moore@delaware.gov

Administrative Specialist II, Jenna Parker
E-mail jenna.parker@delaware.gov

 

Daytime Contacts for Common Animal Complaints
(8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m., Monday – Friday)


Area of Concern Email (answered on next business day) During Business Hours
Livestock and poultry are sick or dying Karen.Lopez@delaware.gov or Heather.Hirst@delaware.gov 302-698-4561
Livestock and poultry are running at large Taylor.Nickerson@delaware.gov 302-698-4562
Backyard poultry registration Allison.Culver@delaware.gov 302-698-8589
Exotic animal permitting Taylor.Nickerson@delaware.gov 302-698-4562
Rabies (Human exposed to potentially rabid animal) Jamie.Ahlers@delaware.gov 302-744-4990
Rabies (Animal exposed to potentially rabid animal) Rabies.Hotline@delaware.gov 302-698-4630

 

 

After Hours, Weekend, and Holiday Contacts for Common Animal Complaints


Area of Concern  Contact
After hours disease emergency
(agricultural animals)
 

If you have a disease emergency involving agricultural animals
that needs immediate attention after hours call 302-233-1480.

 

After hours livestock or poultry welfare
concerns that need immediate attention
 

Call the Office of Animal Welfare at 302-255-4646.

 

After hours stray livestock and poultry
complaints
 

Your call will be returned in order or priority on the next business day.

 

After hours exposure of a person to rabies Call the Division of Public Health hotline at 1-888-295-5156.

 

Wildlife Questions: DDA Does Not Respond to Wildlife Questions or Complaints


Please refer to wildlifehelp.org for help with your questions. State personnel do not respond to nuisance complaints about wildlife. Delawareans should call a private pest control company for assistance with wildlife. A list of these companies can be found under the “Professional Help” section of wildlifehelp.org.

You may find answers to other wildlife concerns at the DNREC Fish and Wildlife website https://dnrec.alpha.delaware.gov/fish-wildlife/


Related Topics:  , , , , ,


+