By law, individuals must obtain a certification with the Nutrient Management program if they meet one or more of the following criteria:
- Operates an animal feeding operation of eight or more animal units (1 Animal Unit = 1000 pounds)
- Applies nutrients to 10 or more cumulative acres of land (agricultural, lawns and landscapes, golf courses, athletic fields, etc.)
- Applies nutrients to land as part of a commercial business
- Consults and writes Nutrient Management or Animal Waste Management Plans
There are four levels of Nutrient Management Certification. Their description and minimum requirements for initial certification are below:
- Nutrient Generator – A person who operates a facility in the State of Delaware that produces organic or inorganic nutrients. You must complete at least Session 1 and Session 2 during Delaware Nutrient Management Certification Sessions.
- Private Nutrient Handler – A person who applies organic or inorganic nutrients to the land he or she owns, leases, or otherwise controls in the State of Delaware. You must complete at least Session 1, Session 2, and Session 3 during Delaware Nutrient Management Certification Sessions.
- Commercial Nutrient Handler – A person who applies organic or inorganic nutrients to land for a fee as part of a commercial or agricultural business in the State of Delaware. You must complete Session 1, Session 2, Session 3, and Session 4 during Delaware Nutrient Management Certification Sessions. You must also pass a written exam approved by the commission and remit a fee of $150 for a three-year period.
- Nutrient Consultant – A person who advises or consults the formulation, application, or scheduling of organic or inorganic nutrients as part of a Delaware Nutrient Management Plan. You must complete Session 1, Session 2, Session 3, and Session 4 during Delaware Nutrient Management Certification Sessions. You must also pass a written exam approved by the commission and remit a fee of $100 for a one-year period.
Certification sessions are conducted by the University of Delaware’s Cooperative Extension. Upcoming certification session information can be found here. To register for sessions, please call 302-730-4000.
The Nutrient Management Program has adopted a policy of accepting certification from other states and certification programs (i.e. CCA). Contact the Commission for a detailed listing of approved certification programs. A seminar covering the Delaware Law is still a requirement.
In order to maintain certification, the certification holder must attain the following prior to their expiration date:
- Nutrient Generator – Complete (6) Continuing Education credits
- Private Nutrient Handler – Complete (6) Continuing Education credits
- Commercial Nutrient Handler – Complete (6) Continuing Education credits and remit $150
- Nutrient Consultant – Complete (5) Continuing Education credits and remit $100
A list of the upcoming continuing education credit sessions provided through the University of Delaware Cooperative Extension is available online here.
The Delaware Nutrient Management credits and expiration list is updated periodically throughout the year. For your most up-to-date credit information, please call the Nutrient Management Program at the Delaware Department of Agriculture.
Updated: 04/12/2021 Delaware Nutrient Management Certification Credits and Expiration List
If you have the required continuing education credits and are eligible to renew your Nutrient Management certification, please complete the following application and return to the Nutrient Management Program. If payment is necessary, please include a check made payable to the Delaware Department of Agriculture.
Related Topics: certification, Certification & Training, education, education programs, nutrient management, Nutrient Management Commission, nutrients